SITTING THE DOG

IMG_3348

I am dog sitting
for a friend.
Actually
to be more precise,
I’m
house sitting,
fish sitting,
guinea pig sitting,
and
dog sitting –
for a friend.

IMG_3358

The house is amazing.
I feel like
a rock star.
The fish
and the guinea pig
are …..
well, lets just say
I’m not a rodent cheerleader
or a fish fan.
BUT
the dog!
The dog is
GREAT.
He is a handsome,
and
delightfully bonkers
Jack Russell terrier
called Boss,
and
I have fallen in love!

IMG_3360

I’ve always been
a cat person.
I adore cats.
In fact –
I don’t think a house
is truly a home
until
there’s a cat in it.
BUT,
saying that –
I now
have to wonder
how I’ve lived
for so many years
without a dog!

IMG_3357

Don’t get me wrong –
dogs are –
inconvenient,
demanding,
they BARK,
they cover you in hair,
and if you like to wear black,
as I do –
that really sucks.
Then,
THEN –
there’s that thing
that
if you don’t walk them
they POO
in your garden!
But
despite all that,
what I never knew
was –
that a dog
is a JOY.

IMG_3367

I know that
I’m probably
preaching
to the converted.
Its not like
I have
unearthed a secret,
raided a tomb,
discovered
a hitherto
unknown
Pharaoh and his wife.
You dog-lovers
out there
have always known this
to be so.
You lucky dogs!

IMG_3401

I don’t know
what I will do
when the owners
return.
Change the locks?
Claim dog and squatter rights?
Abscond with Boss
to south America,
some little country
without
extradition treaties?
NO!
I’m a grown woman
for pities sake!
I shall be sensible.
I shall say
he ran away,
dye him black
and change his name to
Rover!

Rover enjoying life in Patagonia

Rover enjoying life in Patagonia

