STANDOUT

Today’s DAILY PROMPT theme is STANDOUT. Here is my contribution.

ADMIRAL

I am a 55 yr old
woman,
a womanly woman
with grown up children.
I embrace my femininity.
BUT
I also enjoy
a bit of
cross dressing.

My best friend
Tristan
had his birthday
recently
and because
he was turning
FORTY
he gave it a
1940’s
wartime theme.

I chose NOT
to be another
“land girl”,
“W.A.A.F”,
or
“housewife”.
I decided,
instead,
to go as
THE ADMIRAL.
I put on a
naval jacket
and completed
the look with
stick on
moustache
and eyebrows.

The result
shocked even me.
Some close friends
did NOT
recognise me at first.
Some close friends
did NOT
recognise me
for ages !

I had great fun
playing
the role –
exaggerated
cut-glass accent,
slightly
inebriated,
roving eye.
HA HA
it was a fun way
to
STANDOUT !

Have you ever done something similar?
I’d love to hear about it.

